Musings on the Craft of Writing

►Typing ≠ Writing

typists type

So true.

It feels so good to “actually be ‘writing’” the story.  Although it may sound strange, a danger is hiding here, for the emotional highs we get from “finishing” sections/chapters/books can sometimes hinder the creative process.  We have to be careful to consistently step back, get to the window and stare.

We should repeat this practice throughout the entirety of our projects.  Milling over our stories before, during and after the keyboarding is vital to writing a great novel. Keep musing, charting, planning,  critiquing and, of course, typing.  Novel writing is the sum of those parts.

~Daniel

9 responses

  1. I agree with you wholeheartedly!

    January 14, 2014 at 10:41 pm

  2. I love staring out the window. Most people don’t get it though. 🙂

    January 15, 2014 at 3:54 am

  3. I rearranged my home office so that my desk faces out the window 🙂

    January 17, 2014 at 1:17 am

  4. I’ve been thinking about this a lot, recently. I’ve managed to come up with a solution that gives me the dopamine hit from writing something while still allowing myself to embed some flexibility and creative analysis in the process – detailed outlining 🙂 I’ve taken to outlining the different components and scenes in my novel and adding in detailed narrative and description, which allows me to creatively engage in the novel’s development and the joy of actually writing, while not emotionally investing in what I’ve written so that it is easier to take it all in, taste it, and then delete it without cringing if need be. Kind of like a tapas approach to writing – you get to enjoy the tasting while not filling up on one flavour 🙂

    January 17, 2014 at 4:44 am

    • Excellent- I do the same. I outline each scene as best as I can before writing it. I also allow myself to remain flexible; I revise the outlines if the tale demands those changes.

      January 17, 2014 at 4:52 pm

  5. Very true. It’s like geeks. Half the time, their work looks like game-playing. But it really isn’t. It’s thinking.

    January 21, 2014 at 5:26 pm

  6. These are great tips. 🙂

    January 21, 2014 at 8:06 pm

  7. Schöne Tipps ich wünsche einen schönen Tag und ein gutes und schönes Wochenende.Grüße lieb Gislinde

    January 25, 2014 at 4:46 am

Leave a Reply

